View Full Version : infected email
oldvolvosrule
April 9th, 2004, 10:51 PM
anyone else receive a bad email from: webmaster@bomberonline, Tried to open but Norton AV caught it before I did anything. Is it just me??
Speed Demon
April 9th, 2004, 10:55 PM
so far i havent had any email like that I check my e-mail frequently too so I have not seen anything recently.
________
HOT_CANDY cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/HOT_CANDY)
nils
April 10th, 2004, 01:00 AM
We are havind the same problem at ec.com
It comes from the fact that people get infected, and since the webmaster@ adress is in their received mail folder, the virus uses it and tries to send itself again using this adress too... We are thinking of putting the email/post notification of the forum down for a while so things calm down a bit...
I am sure fin doesn't spend the day emailing virus to everyone, nor do we ;)
Nils
eddie
April 10th, 2004, 05:41 PM
I was going to ask this a few days back. I am getting about 100 e-mails a day from different snowboard sites, most of them from Nils.
eddie
April 10th, 2004, 05:43 PM
Adam,
Why did you not come to the WTC?
oldvolvosrule
April 10th, 2004, 10:46 PM
Eddie, the reason I was not there was weather. I was planning on taking my plane there but the weather just didn't cooperate. I am not familiar with the surrounding terrain up there either, small planes and hard mtns don't mix too well. I will definitely be there next year, I plan on flying commercially so there will be no problems with weather.
nils
April 11th, 2004, 06:41 AM
yes well its not me or us from ec.com who are sending the emails!
Our adress is in people's email boxes, and those who still have viruses are rerouting them to everyone using that adress...
Not much we can do i guess...
Sorry bout that !
Nils
mirror70
April 11th, 2004, 06:48 AM
www.apple.com/switch
[ducks]
:D :D
nils
April 11th, 2004, 07:16 AM
I am using a Mac / panther machine :)
People sending virus are not it seems :)!
N.
Zcarver
April 11th, 2004, 07:51 AM
Originally posted by oldvolvosrule
anyone else receive a bad email from: webmaster@bomberonline, Tried to open but Norton AV caught it before I did anything. Is it just me??
Yeah, now to think of it, I did get 2 emails with that address, however I was at my friend house who has a Mac with a email virus checker and it removes it automatically.
So I just forgot about it until I saw this thread. Hummmmmm
This happened shortly after I made an order with bomber about a month ago. But I haven't seen any recently.
eddie
April 11th, 2004, 01:43 PM
Yea, I hear some horror stories from small aircraft pilots in the area.
slam
April 11th, 2004, 08:31 PM
The worm you are recieving is W32/Netsky.?@mm (various versions, most common is T). It first selects a person to e-mail itself to from the infected users address book, it then selects another e-mail address from the address book and makes the e-mail appear to come from that person.
thus the e-mail originated from somone who has your e-mail and webmaster@bomberonline.com in their address book.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.